I heard it again yesterday. Conversation that turned to the topic of the economy, and how bad it is, and how the signs are everywhere. I don’t seem to be able to recall any conversation in the last couple of years where I heard people express a sense that things were getting better, or that the future held promise.

And yet…it seems so many of the same people who are able to observe their surroundings and sense, explicitly, that all is not well, are still ready to throw their collective lot in with the same executive (and the same, stale, statist ideas) that failed to spark a recovery. This, I will never understand.

So. Tomorrow. My sense is that the outcome is close. Bitterly close. In the end, I expect the power of incumbency and the lack of a free (dead tree/old network) press will prove too much.

Aside: do you know when our president last held a press conference? August 20. Did you know he’s held fewer press conferences than George W. Bush? He has, however, appeared more often on The View and on Letterman than the last president. So, for that at least we may be thankful. So much for accountability.

Ah, but where was I? Oh yes. The prediction: Four more years of Obama will be ours to enjoy/endure.

My hope is that whatever the outcome, that it be known early, and with certainty. We don’t need another Florida 2000 scenario. I fear what that would do to the country.

I also fervently hope that our next President succeeds in addressing the very real challenges we face and in reigniting the productive capacities that made us the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope that regardless of electoral outcome or ideology, we can all agree on at least that.

Here’s to the freest and best possible life, for each and every one of us.

