In general, if you look throughout the Middle East, you’ll find it’s a complicated area with complicated movements on all sides, but if you wanted to generalize one statement: I think you could say that the toppling of secular dictators has led typically to chaos and typically to more radical Islam and that radical Islam has been more or less, but at least somewhat focused on attacking America or Americans, where the secular dictators were more concerned with their country and rule in their country. This happened with toppling Gaddafi, it happened with toppling Mubarak, it would happen with toppling Assad, and I think it did happen with toppling Hussein. Half of those have been Democrat initiatives, half of those have been Republican, and some have been mixed, but I’ve been consistent in saying that I think those were all mistaken interventions. At the same time, I’ve also said all along that I’m not for no interventions. I’m not for saying ‘we never intervene’, and this is what I’ve spent five years trying to tell people is my policy, I don’t want to be branded as someone who believes in no intervention. In the current situation, I do think this is a judgement call, and I still continue to believe that Congress should vote on it. It’s an imperative that Congress declare war, and I’ve never changed my position on that, but I’ve always said that when we vote then there is a debate, and the debate concerns our vital American interests.

I support taking the fight to our enemies, the Islamist jihadists. However, I do not support this president, once again, ignoring the Constitution and acting without the required Congressional authorization. It’s outrageous, and Congress – representatives on BOTH sides – should be demanding that they be heard. The destruction of the Constitutional separation of powers under Obama is incredibly dangerous.

Total abdication by the press and the left on this issue, and I am of course not surprised.

via Rand Paul Responds To His Critics On ISIS And Foreign Policy.

