‘It’s an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around,’ Yorke and his producer Nigel Godrich wrote on the BitTorrent blog. ‘If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of Internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.’

It worked well for me. It took six clicks to pay for and download ‘Tomorrows Modern Boxes’ onto my Android tablet, and that included installing the BitTorrent app. The download was done before I finished brushing my teeth.

It’s a brilliant idea and worked terrifically for me. Anything that helps musicians keep a larger share of the sale proceeds is a good thing. The take paid out by Spotify and similar services is pitiful – one of the reasons I stay off Spotify and try to buy what I want. If you want good art, support it directly.

via I Paid Thom Yorke $6 and It Was Worth It – Bloomberg View.

